2018 Ranger of the Year

Annually, the TPRA calls for nominations for Park Ranger of the year. We ask the field to submit their nominations prior to our annual in-service training, this year taking place at Henry Horton State Park. Those who submit a nomination are asked to use the Tennessee State Parks mission statements as a guideline to highlight the examples of how the nominee is exemplifying what we do and how we accomplish common goals in our system. We also ask, how does the nominee embody the mission of the Division of Tennessee State Parks and the Tennessee Park Rangers Association while representing the agency as an outstanding, leading park ranger in our field.

2018 Park Ranger of the Year:

Damon Graham - Park Manager at Rock Island State Park

Damon has worked for Tennessee State Parks for 14 years full time & 5 years part time.  He has been involved with TPRA for over 10 years and served as a board member for several years.  He has been very active in improving law enforcement benefits for employees & serves as committee chair related to those issues.  He is an active member of the Search & Rescue Teams, Wildland Firefighter Teams, & a leader on the Swiftwater Rescue Teams. 

“The Park Manager for Rock Island State Park over this past year, Mr. Graham, continues to amaze me with his vast knowledge of our park organization and this willingness to share that wisdom with others. His humbleness and generosity, I believe, is renowned system wide. Damon is definitely an asset to Tennessee State Parks.”

-Park Manager George Shinn; South Cumberland State Park

2018 Park Ranger of the Year Nominees:

  • Brent Measles - Park Ranger at Fall Creek Falls State Park

  • Josh Kuykendall - Park Ranger at Cumberland Scenic Trail State Park

  • Josh Waggener - Park Manager at Sgt. Alvin C. York State Historic Park

  • Pat Wright - Park Manager at Montgomery Bell State Park